About

The Jacot Foundation supports projects and organizations that help to raise environmental awareness, ensure sustainable conservation and work to protect ecosystems that benefit both humans and wildlife. The Foundation operates mainly in foreign countries and in line with the aims mentioned above. It is independent of political, religious and ethnic affiliations. The Foundation is a non-profit, fully charitable organization.

 

Logo

CONGO - Dark Clouds Threaten Virunga

Éditions Slatkine, Genève
Septembre 2015
ISBN 978-2-8321-0760-7
Coming soon!

 

  • comic_1
  • comic_2
  • comic_3
Marabu

Current project

The Foundation’s current project is a graphic novel designed for schools in the Congo, in particular those bordering the Virunga National Park. The aim of the graphic novel,entitled ”Congo, Dark Clouds Threaten Virunga”, is to raise public awareness of the situation in Virunga National Park. The story is told from the perspective of Louis, a local boy who is confronted with poachers and criminal gangs. This graphic novel shows that preserving this impressive nature reserve is of great importance and demonstrates the crucial role played by the local community’s involvement. Some mysteries remain unsolved, but through Louis’ tremendous dedication and bravery we see that, despite obstacles, a great deal can be achieved.

Jean-Pierre Jacot

Born in Bern in 1941, married, two grown-up children. After studying medicine, I worked as a psychiatrist. Now that I am retired, I have time on my hands. I have always had an active interest in biology, nature and in drawing and painting. Over the past twenty years, I have visited Africa on several occasions and become aware of the country's natural environment as well as its numerous local problems. The sum of my experience then led to me setting up the Jacot Foundation three years ago. The primary aim of the current project is to teach children in schools about the importance of conserving the natural environment.

Gorilla

Contact

Jacot Foundation
Jean-Pierre Jacot
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
+41 31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch

The Foundation

About us
Donate
Impressum

© 2014 Jacot Foundation | powered by Arcoffice GmbH

 
reset

Impressum

Copyrights

Copyrights and all other rights relating to texts, illustrations, photos or other files on the website belong exclusively to the Jacot Foundation or the mentioned owners. For any reproduction the written consent of the author must be obtained in advance.

Disclaimer

References and links to third party websites lie outside the scope of responsibility of the Jacot Foundation. Access and use of such websites are at the users own risk.

Contact

Jacot Foundation
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
Tel: +41 (0)31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch

But de la Fondation

La fondation Jacot soutient des projets et des institutions qui ont comme but le soutien, le maintien ou la restauration durable de la nature. Les activités de la fondation se trouvent en premier lieu à l’étranger. La fondation est indépendante de quelques aspects politiques, confessionnels ou ethniques. Son but est d’aider les destinataires à se prendre en main eux-mêmes. La fondation est une association à but non lucratif et à utilité générale

.

 

Logo

CONGO - Nuages sombres sur les Virunga

Éditions Slatkine, Genève
Septembre 2015
ISBN 978-2-8321-0711-9
112 pages, reliē plein papier, CHF 19.-
Commande en ligne: Edition Slatkine, amazon

 

  • comic_1
  • comic_2
  • comic_3
Marabu

Le projet actuel

Le projet actuel consiste en une bande dessinée « Congo, Nuages sombres sur les Virunga » destinée aux écoles du Congo et en particulier celles du Parc National des Virunga. La bande dessinée veut aussi sensibiliser une communauté plus large aux problèmes de la conservation de la nature en général. L’histoire montre comment Louis, un garçon du coin, se retrouve confronté à des braconniers. Elle souligne l’importance de préserver cette nature unique et le rôle primordial que joue la population locale à cette fin. Certains mystères persistent, mais nous pouvons constater que malgré maints obstacles, il est possible d’arriver à bien des résultats grâce au courage et à l’obstination de Louis.

Jean-Pierre Jacot

Je suis né en 1941 à Berne, marié et père de deux enfants adultes. Après des études de médecine, j’ai exercé en tant que psychiatre, aujourd’hui, je suis retraité et je retrouve enfin du temps libre. Mon attrait pour la biologie, la nature et le dessin m’ont accompagné depuis toujours. Par ailleurs, plusieurs séjours en Afrique au cours des vingt dernières années ont attiré également mon attention sur la splendeur de la nature, mais aussi les problèmes sur place. Cela mena finalement il y a trois ans à la constitution de la Fondation Jacot qui poursuit actuellement comme objectif majeur de sensibiliser les écoliers sur place à la valeur de leur environnement.

Gorilla

Contact

Jacot Foundation
Jean-Pierre Jacot
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
+41 31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch

© 2014 Jacot Foundation | powered by Arcoffice GmbH

 
reset

Impressum

Les droits d'auteur

Les droits d'auteur et tous les droits concernant les contenus, les images, les photos ou toutes autres fichiers du site sont exclusivement propriété de la Jacot Foundation ou des détenteurs des droits nommés. Toutes réproductions d'élements demandent une autorisation préalable des détendeurs des droits par écrit.

Clause de non-responsabilité

La Jacot Foundation décline toutes responsabilités concernants le contenue des liens et références des sites tièrs. L'accès et l'utilisation de ces sites s'effectue aux propre risques des utilisateurs.

Contacte

Jacot Foundation
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
Tel: +41 (0)31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch