2016 21.06-02.07. Journey to the Congo

During my third visit to the Eastern Congo the focus was on presenting the graphic novel "Congo, Nuages sombres sur les Virunga" to local institutions. As a result, several dozen graphic novels were distributed to schools, which stimulated discussions, children's drawings and nature conservation initiatives.

When I was in Goma, I was able to visit the Free University ULPGL, two orphanages, Don Bosco with over two thousand street children as well as two youth organisations committed to looking after the environment. I also unexpectedly received the opportunity to present the foundation project to Radio Tayna.

Virunga National Park is making its own contribution to the project by placing an order for 100 books for local sale. As the school holidays had just started at the park in Rumangabo during our stay, we instead had the opportunity to start work on the graphic novel at the school and at the orphanage in the nearby village of Rugari.

Back in Switzerland with over 150 children's drawings, new local contacts and ideas, I now have the basis for my next visit to the country.

 

Gorilla

Contact

Jacot Foundation
Jean-Pierre Jacot
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
+41 31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch

The Foundation

About us
Donate
Impressum

© 2014 Jacot Foundation | powered by Arcoffice GmbH

21.06. bis 02.07.2016 - Dritte Reise in den Ostkongo

Bei meinem dritten Besuch im Ostkongo ging es darum, lokalen Institutionen vor Ort die Graphic Novel "Congo, Nuages sombres sur les Virunga" vorzustellen. So wurden einige Dutzend Graphic Novels in Schulen verteilt, die zu Diskussionen, Kinderzeichnungen und Einsätzen zur Erhaltung der Natur anregten.

In Goma hatte ich die Möglichkeit, die Freie Universität ULPGL, zwei Waisenheime, Don Bosco mit über zweitausend Strassenkindern sowie zwei Jugendorganisationen, die sich für den Umweltschutz einsetzen, zu besuchen. Unerwartet erhielt ich auch Gelegenheit, das Stiftungsprojekt auf Radio Tayna zu präsentieren.

Der Virunga-Nationalpark beteiligt sich selber am Projekt, indem er 100 Bücher für den Verkauf vor Ort bestellt hat. Da bei unserem Aufenthalt die Schulferien beim Park in Rumangabo gerade begonnen hatten, ergab sich die Gelegenheit, die Arbeit mit der Graphic Novel in der Schule und im Waisenheim im nahe gelegenen Dorf Rugari zu beginnen.

Mit über 150 Kinderzeichnungen, neuen lokalen Kontakten und Anregungen zurück in der Schweiz – sind die Grundlagen für meinen nächsten Besuch vor Ort bereits gelegt.

 

Gorilla

Kontakt

Jacot Foundation
Jean-Pierre Jacot
Kramgasse 54
3011 Bern
+41 31 311 54 74
info@jacot-foundation.ch

Die Stiftung

Über uns
Spenden
Impressum

© 2014 Jacot Foundation | powered by Arcoffice GmbH